According to the Minamata Conventions Full National Reports 2021, the MIAs, or other official documents, the global transition to a mercury-free dentistry is fully underway.*

  • 19 Countries generally ban Dental Amalgam by law (4 with narrow exceptions, for 4 countries the ban still enters into force)
  • 8 Countries declared not to use Dental Amalgam at all
  • 10 Countries have withdrawn Dental Amalgam from public programs, effectively phasing it out (1 by 2025).
  • The European Union (further 24 Countries) is working on a phase out regulation, a ban on the use with limited exceptions, the manufacture and export by 1 January 2025. 7 European Countries have already set up national plans to phase out.
  • 39 Countries have phased out Dental Amalgam for Children up to 15 years (2 for less), pregnant and breastfeeding Women


SwedenNorwayMoldovaMongolia, 4 Arab states of the Persian Gulf (KuwaitBahrainQatarUnited Arab Emirates), the Philippines, Indonesia, Bolivia and Gabon have generally banned dental amalgam by law.

Denmark, Lithuania, Switzerland and Liechtenstein have banned dental amalgam with few limited exceptions.

In Nepal a general ban will enter into force by September 2024 upon availability of alternatives, in Panama by January 2025, in Tanzania and Slovakia by 2030.

The European Commission has recently presented a legislative proposal to phase out dental amalgam by January 2025. Italy has set up a plan to phase it out by  2025, Slovenia, the Czech Republic, Finland, Ireland and Greece have set up plans to phase out by 2030.

Russia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Ecuador, Saint Kitts and Nevis and Zambia declared not to use dental amalgam at all.

Poland, Japan, Bolivia, El Salvador, Paraguay, Peru, Guyana, Saint Lucia, Uruguay and Mozambique have withdrawn dental amalgam from public programs, effectively phasing it out (Croatia will follow by January 2025).

Cuba and Colombia have stopped the import of dental amalgam.

In the 27 Member States of the European Union, the use of amalgam dental amalgam is banned since 1 July 2018 for dental treatments of deciduous teeth, of children under 15 years and of pregnant or breastfeeding women and a general phase-out is currently under preparation.

And Albania, Iceland, UK, Bangladesh, Vietnam, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, Tunisia, Tanzania and Panama have followed the EUs example to protect children. Thailand banned the use of dental amalgam for children up to 6 years and Mauritius for young children. Pakistan for Children up to 15 years, but not yet for pregnant and breastfeeding women.

By 28 September 2023 Parties to the Minamata Convention shall take measures to protect children from the use of dental amalgam.

Parties shall:

"Exclude or not allow, by taking measures as appropriate, or recommend against the use of dental amalgam for the dental treatment of deciduous teeth, of patients under 15 years and of pregnant and breastfeeding women, except when considered necessary by the dental practitioner based on the needs of the patient."

The World Alliance for Mercury-free Dentistry is calling on parties to take action, to protect the most vulnerable population:

👉 First full national reports of the Minamata Convention on Mercury due by 31 December 2021
👉 Minamata Convention Initial Assessments (MIAs)
👉 Dental Amalgam: Information on the implementation of any additional measures taken by Parties
👉 Report of the Informal Global WHO consultation with policymakers in dental public health, 2021. Monitoring country progress in phasing down the use of dental amalgam. 

Privacy Preference Center